——Visits at One Long Beach——

The Main House


Sept. 7, 2018

This was the perfect place for a “mini” college reunion for the 4 of us. Beautiful setting and location. The house is very clean and homey and comes with everything you can imagine, that would be needed for a week’s stay. I will definitely be considering it for future trips with either family or friends.

Aug. 12-19, 2018

The Shiembobs - another wonderful family vacation here at the Main House. A fun filled week with everyone enjoying lots of beach time, delicious foods and laughter. Always a tearful time when the week ends and we have to head home. Once again, thank you for sharing your home as our “home away” for our vacation. The Beliveaus and Pallmerines

Hey we are leaving today. Had so much fun. Thank you so much!

The Charrons and Buxtons

Aug 5, 2018

Taking some time to writing in this journal is always bitter sweet -- another end to a fantastic family vacation. Completing two weeks back to back was amazing. This being our sixth year of renting The Main House, we’ve always had great atmosphere, clean rooms and wonderful memories added to our family vacation! Thanks for offering such a great place that we call home even if it is only two weeks out of the year. Best summer times ever!!

The Lusigrian, O’Connell, Hubert-Gillespie families

July 21, 2018

Best week of the year! See you next year. Thank you.

The Nivakis

June 7, 2018

Lovely home, very close to beach and views of the ocean!! We had a delightful stay and would highly recommend this beautiful home with ocean views and a two- minute walk to the beach

July 29-Aug. 5, 2017

Day 1 - we went to get lunch after the long ride from CT. Then we got to the house and I looked around! Then we went for a walk on the beach! And got “Wicked Good!” Grocery store next. Now we’re going to stay at home.

Day 2 - we went to downtown, and then we went to the beach. After that we got pizza. My mom and I got ice cream and went to some stores. After that, my family and I walked to the Nubble (for xmas in July!)

Day 3 - we shopped downtown, went to the beach, went on a boat, and got dinner.

Day 4 - lazy day hanging around. Took a drive to look at some mobile homes, strolled around watching all the people and dogs (lots of dogs this year!)

Day 5 - took a morning walk and enjoyed the early morning quiet. Enjoyed the beach and some ice cream and a surprise visit from sissy! Today uncle arrived from CA!

Day 6 - we had fun today!

Day 7 - we went to the beach, we got ice cream, we got dinner, we did ghostly tours (super fun - not scary) and then got more ice cream!

Day 8 - last day, so sad!

10 years of staying here and making great memories! See you next year!

The Poklemba family - Hannah (11), Julie (mommy), John (daddy), Jer (uncle), Kerri (aunt), Bethany (sissy), Gram and Oma, and Uncle Peter and Natasha from CT.

July 22-29, 2017

Once again I sit to write to our fellow “One Long Beach” vacationers to share our vacation. As I gather my thoughts and reflect on our week, I am reminded of years past. Great weather, tons of food and always great laughs. One thing can be said for sharing one house with three families - creating a lifetime of memories.

We love our time on the beach and this week (after ten years of coming to York) the weather was less than perfect, but clearly that didn’t stop us from finding other things to do. From Racko to Forty-Fives to Pitch and Phase 10 - we played them all! Family Feud topped the cake! Lots and lots of laughs, but one thing is true - we are so blessed and incredibly grateful for Ed and Barbara Shiembob and the home they’ve kept up through the years. Their home becomes our home away from home. We hope you and your family share as many wonderful moments and create a lifetime of memories here as I know our family has!

O’Connell, Lusignan and Hubert families

May 25-30, 2017

Memorial Day Weekend: Lauren and Corey’s wedding weekend! This was a great house to gather with family and friends. Perfect location! The house had everything we needed including a beautiful view from the master bedroom. A weekend we will never forget!

The Kolodziej/Wass Families

Sept. 5, 2016

Beautiful home and excellent location

Our extended family rented this beautiful home and enjoyed every moment. The house is very well appointed with everything we needed to keep 6 adults and a 3 year old happy. The kitchen was very well equipped , right down to all the lobster utensils we needed to enjoy a lobster fest at the house. The home is meticulously clean and maintained, which certainly added to our appreciation. The large deck accommodated us all very comfortably and has a beautiful view of the ocean. The location was also perfect, just a walk across the street to the beach and the park, where our 3 year old grandson played everyday. The center of the village is just a short walk from the house along the ocean but far enough away to stay away from the commotion of downtown, which is exactly what we wanted. Ed was great to work with and he and his wife took the time to follow up with us during our stay, to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. We all loved this home and highly recommend a stay here!

Alex

July 23-30 2016

To our fellow York - one long beach vacationers;

After 10 plus years of coming to York to vacation, this year was surely a wonderful week! We couldn’t have asked for a better week weather wise. Sunny, hot 85-90 degrees everyday. Unfortunately we couldn’t get any surfing in which was a big downer but the tide schedule made it the BEST beach week! Our family of 9 love coming here and as always the house is awesome!! Cheers,

Lusignan, Hubert and O’Connell Families

June 11-18 2016

Bowden Sisters Visit

Bonnie, Diana, Robin and Vicki, also know by our father as numbers 1, 2, 3, and 4; visited for our annual Sista Week. We all hail from Texas, Florida, North Carolina and Georgia. Our parents were introduced by their grandmothers here at this house. We spend many summers here at York. Lots of happy memories.
We had the best time! Thanks, Ed!
Thank you, Ed, for taking such good care of our great grandfathers home. It’s been a week of visiting old haunts like the Goldenrod and discovering new ventures such as the marginal walk. We even connected with a cousin by accident we haven’t see in many years! York is our home and what a wonderful place to stay. - Crazy sister #4 Wonderful week, great memories, look forward to staying here again.

The Bowden Sisters

Sept 9-16, 2015

What an honor it was to stay in this house. Ed, you have done a wonderful job with the house and we are so happy people of all ages are enjoying it. THis home was built by Samuel and Cora Bowden in 1900. Like my father and his father before him there are wonderful memories of growing up in a caring, loving family. Along with my 4 sisters and brothers, grandchildren and great grandchildren and cousins, we came back to York to bury Dad next to his parents in the cemetery behind the First Parish Church. Thank you for the opportunity to stay here and follow the steps of our ancestors.

Diana Guidry-FL, Bonnie Miller-TX, Robin Floyd-NC, Vicki White-GA, Stephen Bowden-GA

Aug. 15-22, 2015

Love the house! The location is perfect, the beach, playground and the variety of shops down the street. This is my first time in Maine and let me tell you it’s going to be hard for any other vacations to beat this one! I went to Boston which is about an hour away and I also enjoyed Portsmouth. I cannot forget the beach, Short Sands, right in front of the house. Hey, maybe the 6 hour drive from NJ was worth it!

Julie, 11 years young

July 25 - Aug 1, 2015

Another wonderful week at York Beach and at your home! As always our family enjoyed your place and are already talking about next summer. Thanks for always providing us with a wonderful home away from home!

Lusignan O’Connell and Hubert Family

June 26, 2015

What a wonderful home for our long-planned vacation with daughters & hubbies! What great memories we will have of York, Me. We have enjoyed seeing all the traditional sights of the area and so loved staying in your beautiful home!

The Coopers, The Doucetts, The Gissens

June 29, 2015

Planes, trains and broken down automobiles was how it all started. 5 brothers and sisters brought together the family to lay to rest our father in our childhood hometown. The Main & Carriage house were the perfect setting for everyone to go off on their own adventure and also come together for late night card games. We got 14 people around the table and our Uncle Ray and Aunt Jean stole the show. As we always do and our shirts said, “Out talk, out laugh, out eat” we survived the week and Ed is our first call if we ever plan this again.
Dan, David, Donna, Dale, Debra, and our families hope everyone the same perfect week that we had

The Dupuis family

Sept 15, 2015

Our stay in ME could not have been more pleasant. We loved being in your home away from home. Thank you for providing a clean, well taken care of property. We will be back!

Sam and Catherine Massey

Sept 5, 2014

We had a magical time! Thank you!

Biyee and family

August 23 - 30, 2014

Thanks for a memorable week! We loved the house and were very comfortable, with 8 adults and 2 kids and 2 babies in cribs. The setting couldn’t be more beautiful and more fun - great views from the master suite and from the ferris wheel!

Judy and Henry Feldman and family

August 16, 2014

Once again had a wonderful week. WE all love this house and it’s location is perfect for both beaches. Hope to be back next year!
Linet and John King

Jennifer, Corey and Natalie Wagner

August 3, 2014

Even though my trip isn’t finished yet, I have a suggestion. When we were trying to make popcorn it burnt because the table wasn’t going. Hope you can fix it! In the microwave.

Love, Maddie

July 2014

Dear Ed, Thank you for allowing our family to stay at One Long Beach. It is the perfect home away from home. WE are already looking forward to next year!

The Novak Family

June 21, 2014

Thank you for letting us stay here. You were very kind. We had an amazing time. My bed is very comfy and I think everyone else is too. We’re from MA, we love coming up here. It’s a lot of fun. Thanks again!
Sincerely, the 4 year old daughter that said this place was “lovely” 5 years ago.

Cora (PS - I’m nine now)

June 14, 2014

Review #11137149 “6 years of absolute bliss!”

Our family has been staying at the main house for 1 week for the past 6 years and we look forward to going back each year. The house is clean, quiet, spacious and feels like home. The view of the ocean is so calming. The deck has a large table and chairs. We love being able to have our meals all together at the large dining room table or the outside table. A walk in any direction is breathtaking. You can play basketball at the courts a short distance away or enjoy the lush park across the street. Just beyond the basketball courts is the quaint downtown area with lots of shops and restaurants. We always go to the Goldenrod at least once during our stay. Long Sands beach couldn't be more perfect with its size, cleanliness, family atmosphere and lifeguards too. I know you too will feel this way if you stay here!

Jim

June 9-13, 2014

A perfect spot for a family vacation. We came from TN, VA, Buf NY and Boston and couldn’t ask for a better vacation home. Love the beach, the playground, the light house, the zoo, the shopping and the food. But most of all we loved having a beautiful house to call home for a week!

The Slavet, Strazzulla, Falls, Burke, Askaws

July 27th – Aug 2nd, 2013

Another wonderful year at York Beach! My family and I have been vacationing here off an on for ten years. This was our second year here and we absolutely love your home. Clean, comfortable and extremely well kept! It was a little disappointing to see the beach this year, the rocks were unbearable, but everything else was just perfect. We can only hope and pray mother nature is more forgiving next year! We are looking forward to many years of memory making with our 3 families. God bless.

July, 2013

Review #6509070: "Fifth year staying, keeps getting better."

This was our fifth year at the house and we never have had a complaint. Any issues that arise are addressed promptly. We love our stay and plan on coming for years to come. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful home.

Kate, Lowell, MA

July 16-23, 2013

Dear Ed,

First let me say Thank You for providing such a lovely rental option in York Beach. My family and I spent our 10th year in York Beach and One Long Beach is by far the best rental property we’ve stayed at. Not only were the accommodations everything we needed and more, you couldn’t have been more pleasant to work with and responsive to our needs (the lock issue). Our rental neighbors were great and we got along perfectly. All in all, it was just a perfect week.

Mary

Memorial Day weekend, 2013

It was such a beautiful place to celebrate Mom and Dad’s 50th wedding anniversary with their children and grandkids only. Maine is one of their favorite areas and we had a weekend that created good memories. Thank you for making us feel so comfortable and welcome.

Cindy and Bob, Michelle and David and girls, Mom and Dad, and David

May 12, 2013

We came to York to remember our mother who recently passed. We shared our fondest memories and in turn created new ones. Our children were able to experience ME, just as we had when we were kids. Thank you, Ed – this place will hold our dearest memories. It will always have a special place in our hearts.

May 2013

Review #6523591 "Beautiful house with a gorgeous view of the ocean."

Having looked for months for a house that would accommodate sleeping 10 with an ocean view on the coast of ME to celebrate my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary, my siblings and I were pleasantly surprised to find One Long Beach! Not only did it sleep all 10 of us comfortably, but there was also plenty of room to move about in this very clean and spacious house. It was a rainy weekend, but we certainly made the best of it. Everyone, adults and kids alike, had plenty of room to watch TV, use the internet connection for electronic devices, as well as playing numerous card and board games at the dining room table when we weren’t walking along the beach and shops. While booking the house, I had a few questions and the owner was not only very pleasant, but prompt getting back to me. We had such a great time we that we already booked the house for next year along with extended family who will be joining us as well!!

Cindy, Manchester NH

July 21-28 2012

This is our first family trip to York and in these cottages. We have had a wonderful time! Thank you to Ed and Barbara for rending out your home/property! We have 17 of us here, renting 2 houses, 3 generations. We have been vacationing in NH for 14 years – this time we decided to try somewhere new and we won’t be going back to NH! Hope to return again next year.

July 14, 2012

Dear Ed, I also stayed with Shannon on the previous page. She said that she only stayed with Sydney but she stayed with 14 other people. But anyway the house is beautiful! It was so much fun here!

Brenna

June 12, 2012

Dear Ed,

This house is amazing. I love how you can go to the beach and on the grass that’s right across the street. Also I went to the zoo, which was so fun! This house is so nice and fun to live in for a week! I also shared the house with Sydney and had so much fun! I love staying here!

Shannon

July 1, 2012

Dear Ed and Barbara,

You have a beautiful house – we had a wonderful time! It’s very spacious and comfortable. We very much enjoyed our week here!

June 23-30, 2012

(Ken and Carla 50th Anniversary celebration from Enfield CT and Colsa FL)
We had lobstah, bee-ah, brocolli and fun times on Short Sands Beach!

Eric

We have had a wonderful week with our entire famly! Love the house and the area. Thanks, Ed and Barbara

Carla and Ken

We had a wonderful week of family fun on the ME coast! We enjoyed walks on the beaches, the “Nubble”, Brown’s ice cream, lobsters, blueberry beer w/ME blueberries in the glass, Marginal Way walk, a bike ride to Cliff Walk, Old York, taffy, candle pin bowling, and a hike up Mt. Agamenticus to see it all from above. We enjoyed family dinners and games around the big table as well – it was a great week!

Barbara and Alan, South Windsor CT

August 27th (30th for some due to Hurricane Irene)- September 4th , 2011

Dear Ed & Barbara. After such a happy time last year with our daughter, son in law, grandchildren, and son there was no question this was the place we wanted to stay again. This year as you know circumstances changed and due to illness it was just us and our son and grandkids. They say angels are among us and you and Barbara certainly qualify for that category with all your understanding, patience and caring is all the uncertainty around our rental also with our trip delays dues to Hurricane and also the way you joined in the support for our daughter. We hope to ALL be back next year! Despite being a small group we all had a lovely, relaxing time and believe me we needed it! So thank you again - although that seems inadequate.

Linet, John and Jonathan, and Corey and Natalie

July 9th-July 16th 2011

We had a wonderful week staying at your main house. My whole family loved it! Everything was perfect! If I could make a suggestion an outside shower would be great to get rid of all the beach sand. Otherwise we had a great time!

Betsy

July 2-9, 2011

We absolutely loved the house. It was immaculate. It is so charming inside. My Mom said you have exquisite tastes. Loved all the old charm. Hope we return in the future.

Joanne

June 18-25, 2011

Review #2093985: "Another Great Year"

This place gets better and better. We enjoyed another great year here, and cannot wait for next. Even when the rain in coming down house has plenty of room for indoor play, cooking, and just all around enjoyment.

Jim

June, 2011

What a great place for a family to come and celebrate special events like my 80th birthday and my husband and I have been married for 59 years. Awesome! 25 of us here. Nice place! Lovely views! My mother spent time here back 100 years ago and now I’m here with my husband, 5 children and grandchildren with assorted special boy and girl friends. Perfect place for a perfect weekend.
Ed, all worked out perfect here. It was beautiful and we all have cherished our time with each other here. We will carry this memory forever in our hearts. Loved our time and your place. Thank you and God Bless.
Perfect for what we did. Excellent property so clean and updated. Very nice setup and we had a great time, just wished it were a little bit warmer to be able to enjoy the beach more. All in all a wonderful experience. Great place, great view, love it. Great having all 25 people stay in 3 houses together.
Thanks for letting us stay! All 25 of us had a great time. I loved how close it was to the beach and downtown. All of us fit pretty well and it was a blast! Hope we can visit again.

September 3, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay! Great property and wonderful owners. Location was amazing. We will be back.

July 3 - 10, 2010

We had a great week again. Lots of good weather and good food. The new refrigerator was great. We liked this week, hope to have some week next year!

Thanks, Ed.

June 26 – July 3 , 2010

Dear Ed, this is our first time being here. We had a great time going on the beach everyday. We wish it would be longer!

June 5 – 12, 2010

Dear Ed - We thoroughly enjoyed our time here! Wish it was longer. We have been coming to York Beach since our kids were little and now they are grown and our grandchildren are coming here too so this was the ideal house for all of us. Plenty of space to spread out and every room is so comfortable and inviting. Thank you so much for sharing your home - hope to see you next year!

August 29-September 5, 2009

This is our first vacation to York and One Long Beach Ave. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a beautiful house and so spacious for our family and our friends that accompanied us.
We enjoyed our time at the Nubble Light house as well as a great dinner at Foxes (which was recommended by a friend back home!) Perkins Cove was a great find with both deep sea fishing and the lobster tour. We hope to make York and One Long Beach our future summer destination next year.

August 22, 2009

This was our first vacation in York. We had a great time and we are very sad to be leaving. We were here with my husband’s brother, his wife and their son. We grilled awesome meals and really enjoyed Fox’s restaurant. We climbed the rocks at Nubble Lighthouse, jumped off the wobbly bridge, rode many waves, played bball on the beach, took yoga classes together and treated ourselves to a spa treatment. We can’t wait to come back next year!

July 25, 2009

Dear Ed, this has been another wonderful year here at this house. This was my 5th year at this house and it keeps getting better. Thank you for letting us enjoy this house and everything that comes with it. PS I am not a Yankees fan, Go Red Sox!!

July 22, 2009

Dear Ed, I love this house. I’m ten but when I’m 20 and older I will still continue coming here every year.

July 22, 2009

Dear Ed, I have been staying here for 6 years and I never had a problem with that. This house is perfect. Also one of the best parts is it is close to everything the beach, park, fun-o-rama, shops, etc. Hopefully I will see you next year for our 7th year.

July, 2009

Dear Ed, thanks so much for letting us stay at your house. It was amazing! Everything about the house was awesome. The addition is so beautiful - I love the deck! Overall the stay here was great! PS the TVs are great!

July, 2009

Dear Ed, I had a very nice stay it was a great location. I love the addition! I played blocks here and ate 3 meals a day in this very house.

July, 2009

Dear Shiembobs, Thank you very much! The stay at the house was great. It’s my 5th year staying in this house, we come up for one week every summer. The house was very clean and it had everything we needed. The spot was great, we love the easy walk to the beach and the town. We loved the new room added on to the back of the house; hope to write in this book again next year!!

July, 2009

Dear Ed, My stay here was marvelous. The speakers for the TV, the location, beds, TV, people, decks, downtown, walking distances, well kept lawn, all marvelous!

July, 2009

Dear owner, the house is great and the location is amazing. I stayed in the big bedroom. I loved the deck and I also loved the new balcony. The view from the balcony was amazing. The beds were really comfy. I felt very clean when I was here. The many pictures and beautiful lamps made everything feel homey! Thanks!

July 4, 2009

Having summered in York for 75 years, it was a treat to entertain my 4 children and spouses and 4 grandsons! It was familiar to many, (having two sons who had worked in the Goldenrod) and new to tethers! Arrived Saturday and never saw the sun until today but we still loved being here again seeing relatives and reuniting with family! Your home and cottages provided wonderful space to be together and have needed privacy. All was in great shape and everything we needed was always found! We really had a good get together with great accommodations! It is a lovely house and the wood work and gorgeous floors made it a beautiful house!

June 20 - 27, 2009

My husband’s family has been vacationing on Long Sands since the 1960s. In 1976 when we got married we were about to rent the same place and have done so for 2 weeks every summer since. The place we rented was a duplex and we were thrilled that our daughter and son in law and their children were able to rent the other side of the duplex during one of our weeks for the past few years. However, this past winter, we were notified that the place was no longer being rented. We were heartbroken and in tears at the news. We immediately went online to try to find something like we used to have. Our daughter found this house and we were able to do a quick walk through last February. Instead of renting a duplex, we decided to pool our funds and try this house. When we arrived Saturday afternoon most of us commented that it was bigger than we remembered. We found it very easy to feel at home. During our week here we have had many visitors stop by and they have all loved “our new place.” After being here for only a few days we took a vote and all of us said if given the chance to go back to the other place to rent we’d all like to come back here instead! PS my 4 year old daughter described it best, “lovely”.

June 6 -13, 2009

2nd annual family vacation! Once again we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we had a new addition this year. A baby girl to enjoy it with us! We much preferred this week in June and plan to keep coming back! We love staying here and love how close it is to the beach and shops. We really had a great time! The kids love being able to walk to the beach and had a great time playing with their kids in the park. The new TV was great too!

June, 2009

We had a houseful and never felt crowded and at one point we had 7 adults and 5 children and 3 weeks all staying we were never bumping into each other. This is a beautiful house very close to the beach and all area amenities. Would suggest highly to anyone, have a family vacation with extended family joining - great place to share a great location.

June, 2009

Everything written about this house is true. It’s big and beautiful and has a great location. Our family of 9 adults all loved the house. We never felt crowded or as if we were stepping all over each other. You have the large dining room table to play cards and games while others are in the living room watching TV or reading in the sitting room or eating at the kitchen table. And with 2 more TVs in the bedroom upstairs you never had to argue over what to watch! Everything just flowed and we sometimes wondered where everyone was. My niece and her husband set their alarm to watch the beautiful sunrise from their bed! And then went back to sleep! Now that’s a luxury. Just lots of fun and nice to be able to walk to so many restaurants, beaches and sights.

September 20 - 28, 2008

The first annual family vacation! As children we always vacationed in Maine with our parents and grandparents and this is the first time all 3 of us girls have been back together as adults. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the main house. There were 9 of us including 2 young children and we felt that we had more than enough room. The little ones loved using the porch to play and grandpa loved to sit there and look at the ocean. We have never stayed so close to the beach or town before and we absolutely loved it! It was so great to be able to have everything within walking distance! The rooms were great and we had many great family dinners in the dining room. We are already planning next year’s trip!! Thank you for providing us such a fantastic home that helped make this such an amazing vacation.

August 23 – 30, 2008

Perfect spot for 4 generations: 93 years to 18 months. New location and floors being redone are great. We have been coming to Maine for 25 years and love this area and your cottage. Weather in the mid 70s, see you next year!

July 19 - 26, 2008

This is our third year in the main house and we had a wonderful time despite the tornado warnings, rain, wind and no electricity for a little while. We enjoyed the few sunny days at the beach and the other days were spent playing games with the family, reading, etc. the new bedroom is fabulous, the floors and stairs are beautiful. Thanks for 3 great vacation years!

July, 2008

We had a very nice vacation at the 1 long beach main house. The house is very clean and spacious. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from the enclosed porch and deck. It is an easy walk to short sands beach and down town. It is also only 4/10 of a mile along sands beach. We also enjoyed a longer walk to the Nubble Light House, which is gorgeous. The accommodations were very comfortable for 9 people in our family. The only reason we wanted to leave was to see our dog. You won’t be disappointed if you rent this house.

August 31, 2007

We had a great time in your very comfortable spacious vacation home. It worked for everyone from 92 years to 5 months. The deck is great. We look forward to coming back.

August 25, 2007

The annual family vacation was a huge success because of this house! We spent two weeks here and enjoyed every second. The deck and views are amazing. The house is huge and terrific. The location is just perfect. We love that we can trek to short sands or long sands beach! Thank you so much for a splendid vacation.

August 1, 2007

Our 6th family get-together our 4th at One Long Beach. The house has always been perfect for us. The addition of the deck has added to the house more than we can say. Our age group was one year old to 78 years old. Simply another great week together and a great stay. See you next year; it doesn’t get much better than this!

July 21, 2007

Once again we had a wonderful week and even the weather was perfect. The new deck is wonderful addition. Thanks for a great time, we can’t wait to come again next year for our 3rd family vacation.

June 30 - July 7, 2007

Excellent vacation! The house is a 10!! Fantastic accommodations. The beds are super comfortable and the night breeze makes for a great sleep. I would highly recommend this house to anyone, roomy, comfy, bright, and cheery. The new deck is great. I loved being so close to the beach and shops. It made it easy for our young teens to be independent! Thanks for the memories.

July 6, 2007

What a wonderful week. Weather was awesome - thunderstorms tonight our last night but no other rain. We rode the trolley, took a ghost tour and had many family game nights- can’t wait for next year. Great house and deck!!

June 29, 2007

Our niece found this location for the gathering of our family of 18. We used both houses, letting the 5 small children along with their parents stay in the smaller house. We loved how we could see the ocean from many places in the house and the cool ocean breezes. The new deck was wonderful and we were able to block it off for the toddler who would have loved to go down the stairs. This is a beautiful, wellequipped home and we could love to come back!

October 9, 2006

This was our first time at One Long Beach but hopefully not the last; we had a wonderful time here and hope to make this our annual Columbus Day Weekend get together. This house is a treasure - plenty of room for all, squeaky clean and perfectly located. The weather was perfect for 3 days of golf: Ledges in York, Dunegrass in Old Orchard Beach and Portsmouth Country Club. If you love Italian food and enjoy fine dining make a reservation at Anthony Albertos in Portsmouth. It will be an evening you won’t soon forget! We will recommend One Long Beach to our friends and family.

August 19 - September 2, 2006

This has been our first vacation as a family at the beach and we couldn’t have asked for a better “home away from home.” The house is lovely and so convenient to the beach, stores, etc. Our family had a wonderful time and plans to make it an annual event although we will stay only one week instead of two. Thanks for One Long Beach Road!

August 16, 2006

Our 5th family gathering in York our 3rd year in the main house. We will return, great accommodations, great location!

August 5, 2006

We really liked the house (especially the ceiling fans & ac we had a couple of hot ones!). My favorite rooms were the sunroom and the white whicker room. My nieces loved the little clubhouse they made in the closet. We had a great family vacation, thank you!

July 29, 2006

Great week! Great accommodations! We loved the place.

September 2 - 4, 2005

York, Maine has been a part of our family’s traditions for 40 years. This was our first family wide winter visit. We celebrated a 60th birthday as three generations gathered here. We topped Mt Aggie Saturday morning then chowed down on Flos famous hot dogs! We capped off the day with dinner at The Bluff. Thanks for sharing your home, we had a great time!

August 13 - 20, 2005

This is our first year in this house, we usually stay at the Gray Gull. There was plenty of space for our extended family. We had great weather and hope to stay here again next year!!

July 31-August 6, 2005

Dear Ed, I loved your houses. If someone offered me to move into one of your houses I would say yes yes yes. I hope you enjoy this house too!

July 23 - 30, 2005

Another great year. The extended family enjoyed the new home in the back as well as the main house. We had great weather and great times!

July 16 - 23, 2005

Out first trip to Maine and it was enjoyed by all 10 of us. The location was perfect, close to the beach and the ice cream shops! We usually go south for our family vacations so this was a different kind of beach and a chance to learn about New England!

August 28, 2004

This house was the bomb! We met so many people in the back cottages and in the other houses around us. The house is awesome for hide and go seek. My family and I have so many movies about this house already!

August 7 -14, 2004

21 family members were at this year’s vacation. The location was great and we all loved our first trip to Maine!

July 31- August 7, 2004

The annual Maine vacation. We had a wonderful week here at One Long Beach. All in all 25 family members enjoyed the main house and cottages ranging in ages from 6 weeks old to 78 (four generations). The accommodations are so comfortable, clean and lovely. We look forward to next year!

July 23 - 31, 2004

The family reunion was a great time for all of us. 27 people from California had a great time we went and met with family in New Hampshire and had clam bake and lobster. Once in a lifetime trip! Left here around 1948 and never looked back.

July 24 - 31, 2004

Enjoyed our stay at One Long Beach. Perfect location, wonderful home and cottages. Look forward to returning soon!

July 31, 2004

We filled the house and cottages for our family reunion. We appreciated having clean accommodations. The weather cooperated and a good time was had by all. Back to California tomorrow with fond memories.

June 19 - 26, 2004

Thanks Ed & Barb for the use of this house. This is a great location. Thanks for making our first trip to Maine an awesome one!

June 19 - 26, 2004

This house is awesome. Our family had an awesome time. I thought the cabins were very well kept. Thanks for letting us spend time here!

June 19 - 26, 2004

Thanks for sharing your home! We feel very fortunate top be able to spend time with our family. Special thanks to “Buzz” for picking us up in Boston and giving us a grand tour of Boston!

June, 2004

Dear Ed thanks for another wonderful stay at One Long Beach. Everything was perfect! We hope to visit sometime nest year!

June, 2004

Two years ago my son graduated from Bowdoin and we celebrated here and this year my daughter graduated. Being in this beautiful home in York made those two occasions even more special. Thanks for sharing One Long Beach with us! We hope to come again.

May 28, 2004- June 5, 2004

This is our 2nd stay at One Long Beach and we love it! It has a great feel! Perfect location great views, close to the park for family waffle ball games and a super walk to the lighthouse.

November 28, 2003

A fantastic place to spend the holidays! Actually, a fantastic place to spend any day. Look forward to our next stay. Thanks for everything!

August 16 - 23, 2003

A wonderful time was had by all. Your home is beautiful, the location is perfect. If everyone’s plans are the same we hope to return next year!

August 2 - 9, 2003

At last we have found the perfect house for accommodating our large group of friends. Despite the rain and fog we had a wonderful time! Looking forward to next year!

July 26- August 2, 2003

This was our first year at One Long Beach as we have spent that last two years at the Rockmont on Bowden Street. We were really happy to have such a nice clean house this year! We had wonderful weather and beached it everyday, the kids loved the location being close to everything, will be back next year (hopefully it will come fast)!

July 19 - 26, 2003

Our 2nd year was just as great as our 1st year. It was perfect for our family reunion. The weather could have been a little better but we still managed to get to the beach everyday. The highlight for our little ones was finding the baby sand dollars that are mixed among the gravel and pebbles after the tide has gone out. Our aunt celebrated her 96th birthday here and enjoyed walking down to the beach with us and then strolling along the boardwalk. This cottage and cabins are just ideal. We look forward to spending next year; we all say “big thanks” and have many fond memories to get us through the dreary months. Raising and lowering the flag was a treat for a retired sgt major of the US Army. He was accompanied by the chorus in the cottage with reveille and taps. Another part of our family is spending his 2nd year at George’s cottage up the street (he being the original owner of this cottage). Fond memories!

July 12 - 19, 2003

Ideal place for a large family. The view was magnificent and the house was very comfortable. The children had a great time sleeping in a tent outside. It was my grandson’s first experience under the stars. Thank you for your hospitality. Ed it was nice meeting you I hope to return next year.

July 5 - 12, 2003

This is our 2nd year in the house and we love the location. Our kids had a good time and loved the beach. We had fun sleeping in the cottage #4. The kids thought it was a big playhouse. It is nice to have other family members stay at the same location. We love the location and the benefits of being close to the beach. We can’t wait until next year!
What a great summer vacation! Our second year at this house first year in a cottage and seventh year at York Beach was the best one yet! We talk about York Beach all year long and can’t wait till next year! Thank you for all that you do to make us comfortable and cozy! See you next year!

July 5 -12, 2003

Your lovely home and the weather were the perfect ingredients for a very special family gathering! This is the first of hopefully many such vacations to York Beach. This was especially great as we had our children and first grandchild joining us! We have memories which will last forever. We have been coming to York Beach for many years staying in B&Bs but none as nice as your house. Thanks for creating a beautiful place for all of us to enjoy. A great place for family and friends to enjoy all that this area has to offer. Hopefully our family will want to return and begin to develop memories that will last forever.

July 5 - 12, 2003

Once again we were blessed to be able to return to your beautiful home and lovely short sands and continue our family tradition and reunion. This was a much needed break for us all. We missed the PA family this year due to the birth of our grandson on July 1st. Great Gram (82) kept up with all of the activities and enjoyed seeing the great grandchildren at the amusement park. This is a wonderful home for the family reunion, we have enjoyed every minutes. Children have played in the park, enjoyed the music, and all enjoyed each other. Just being together has been a blessing. Thank you Ed & Barb for your hospitality and this superb home and cottages that are providing memories for years to come.

June 28- July 5, 2003

Ideal accommodations and locations for the family. Dad & Mom, 5 adult kids, 5 in laws, and 11 grandchildren ages 8-17. The big house is beautiful and so nicely appointed. The cottages provided the space we needed. Walking distance to the beach and downtown was so convenient!! Really appreciated the washer and dryer. Thank you for providing this for our family vacation!

June 28- July 5, 2003

Simply charming and magnificent. One Long Beach was more than we ever imagined. Coming from Colorado, Minnesota, and New Hampshire we couldn’t have found a more perfect place for our family reunion. Many thanks!

August 24- September 1, 2003

Ed & Barbara, we had a fantastic time and wanted to thank you for your hospitality! The house was just great! Thank you for honoring George Wright and contract when you purchased the property! It is so nice to know that you have wonderful people sharing this house with others and are so accommodating where small issues come up. Everyone really enjoyed the week and close proximity to the beach and downtown. We have been coming to York for years and found your home to be an ideal place to stay whether you’re with children or elders. You have given us all the conveniences of home!

August 17 - 24, 2002

We all had a fantastic time here! The house is just beautiful we all felt so at home. Everything we heeded was here we all enjoyed the great location of the house being able to go to either beach was so much fun, we hope to come back next year. Our group (the posse) really enjoyed the week here.

August 10 -17, 2002

This was our first time in Maine and everyone had a great time. The house is lovely and in a great location for walking to the beach and shops. Grandma enjoyed her walks to the lighthouse at sunrise. Lobster in the rough was a great place to pick up cooked lobsters to eat at home. Everyone had fun on the lobster trip out of Perkins Cove. The kids went to splash town and York’s wild kingdom, some of the best times we had were sitting on the porch or on the beach late at night just hanging out. Bingo was a big hit too. Thank you for sharing your house with our family!

August 3 - 10, 2002

What a wonderful vacation. I have been coming to Maine since I was a baby. I have passed this down to my husband and children. Being so close to the beach was wonderful. The house is so beautiful and roomy. Another wonderful vacation in Maine.

August 5 - 10, 2002

This was my husband and my second Maine vacation. The house was perfect for a large group of friends and family. At seven months pregnant the short walk to the beach was great for me and the ocean breeze was wonderful for naps. My husband and I are looking forward to bringing our family here year after year.

July 27 - August 3, 2002

I am writing this based on my own personal experience here at One Long Beach. My family rented the house as a special treat for my honeymoon! Mark and I were married 7/20/02. After spending 5 days in Bath/Hermit Island, Maine we were greeted with a wonderful treat – a beautiful house and room with the view of the ocean and a quick walk to the beach. I have been coming with my sister and her family to Maine for the past 5 years and now the tradition will continue with them and my husband. Our family all had a wonderful week. Thanks for sharing your home!

July 20 – 26, 2002

We the grown ups had a wonderful time. We had 5 generations enjoying the beauty of the area and the ambiance of the cottage. Our youngest being 4 years old to 95 years old. The convenience of the beach, shops and Fun-o –Rama was enjoyed by each and every one. The large cottage and the four small cabins were ideal. We have been taking a family vacation for the last 40 years. Two years ago we found York Beach and George’s wonderful cottage, after spending the rest of the previous years at Hampton Beach. Ed and Barbara thank you so much for making this a wonderful week’s stay. We look forward to being with you next year.

July 13 - 20, 2002

We all enjoyed our stay here. Great location close to shops, long and short sands. Our two kids loved Wild Kingdom and the area was perfect for morning walks. We all saw a spectacular fireworks display on Saturday. We had 6 adults and 2 children and 1 infant and never felt crowded. We spent many hours sitting on the porch admiring the views.

July 6 - 15, 2002

This is our 5th year vacationing at Short Sands with our children and four grandchildren from PA and TX. According to our gracious hosts, Ed & Barbara, we are the first with children since they assumed ownership of this delightful home. The location is superb, the home so very comfortable and Ed & Barbara so willing to make everything just right. We feel privileged and blessed to have our whole family together during a week of wonderful Maine weather and fun activities. Thank you for the use of your home. May God richly bless you. We look forward to next year.
What a great place to make memories! My son lost his first tooth this week, I celebrated my 30th birthday on the same day my mother-in-law celebrated her 58th birthday and my kids went fishing in the ocean for the first time. Many other memories were made this week; memories that will be cherished for a lifetime. Thank you for providing the perfect backdrop for all the moments we won’t soon forget! We look forward to next year!
York Beach is one of my favorite places in the world. From the 1st time we came to York Beach until now we have so many beautiful memories over the years. We have also had the gift of sharing our stay with our wonderful family. Every day with them is precious. Until next year!

June 29 - July 6, 2002

Our family had a wonderful time in all 5 units plus the small house in the back. This is a beautiful place and many fond memories were made. Thanks!

June 22 - 29, 2002

What a wonderful house - plenty of living space more than adequate for our 2 families including 2 grandmoms! Everything we needed seemed to be here. The 50th Anniversary celebration was a big success! Thanks for a beautiful Maine vacation!



TIP Check the availability calendar at HomeAway but book directly with us for the best service and rates. 603-969-6030 or email us.